Teachers possess the power to make their classes more engaging than ever – Join a new initiative for Living Heritage and Education by UNESCO!

‘Bringing Living Heritage to the Classroom in Asia-Pacific’ Online Seminars Promotional Banner © UNESCO Bangkok Office

Are you a teacher looking to make the most of your local cultures in the classroom? If so, this is your chance to collaborate with UNESCO!

UNESCO is inviting teachers from across the Asia-Pacific region to participate in the online course ‘Bringing Living Heritage to the Classroom in Asia-Pacific’, and to join the accompanying online seminars afterward to consult with UNESCO experts.

These activities will help the teachers build innovative lesson plans that use traditional wisdoms, craftsmanship, festivals and rituals in local communities as tools and materials for quality education.

So, what do we ask you to do?
STEP 1: Watch this introductory animation series, ‘Teaching and Learning with Intangible Cultural Heritage in Asia and the Pacific’, on YouTube, which is available in 6 languages: English | Khmer | Korean | Nepali | Russian | Thai

STEP 2: Take this online course now (available only in English), and complete it before 28 September: https://bit.ly/GCEDclassICH

· You will receive a Certificate of Completion upon finishing the course.

STEP 3: Sign up to one or both online seminars on ‘Bringing Living Heritage to the Classroom in Asia-Pacific’: https://bit.ly/LivingHeritageED-AP

· You will receive a Certificate of Participation from UNESCO for attending the online seminar.

· If you can develop lesson plans using Living Heritage in your country by 31 December 2022, you will receive a Certificate of Achievement from UNESCO!

THE FIRST SEMINAR
Date: Friday, 30 September 2022
Facilitators: Vanessa Achilles
                      Sharareh Bajracharya
                      Manantuna Jyapoo
With contexts relevant to South to Southeast Asia
Time: 17.30–20.30 (UTC+7/Bangkok time) coinciding with other time zones, some of which are listed below:
  i. UTC+2: 12.30-15.30
  ii. UTC+4.30: 15.00-18.00
  iii. UTC+5.30: 16.00-19.00
  iv. UTC+5.45: 16.15-19.15 (Kathmandu)
  v. UTC+6: 16.30-19.30
  vi. UTC+8: 18.30-21.30
  vii. UTC+9: 19.30-22.30 (Seoul)

THE SECOND SEMINAR
Date: Thursday, 1 December 2022
Facilitators: Vanessa Achilles
                      Kamila Kenzhetaeva
With contexts relevant to Central to East Asia
Time: 15.00–18.00 (UTC+7/Bangkok time) coinciding with other time zones, some of which are listed below:
  i. UTC+2: 10.00-13.00
  ii. UTC+4.30: 12.30-15.30
  iii. UTC+5.30: 16.00-19.00
  iv. UTC+5.45: 13.45-16.45
  v. UTC+6: 14.00-17.00 (Kyrgyzstan)
  vi. UTC+8: 16.00-19.00
  vii. UTC+9: 17.00-20.00 (Seoul)


Tentative Programme

Duration Line-up of activities
5 min. Welcome to the seminar
5 min. Introducing our UNESCO project
15 min. What is a ‘living heritage’? Why is living heritage important for schools? (Module 1)
10 min. Voices from teachers and students in pilot countries of the project
20 min. Q&A and plenary discussion
20 min. 6 steps to create your own lesson plans (Modules 2-4)
10 min. Break
20 min. Idea-sharing by participants
15 min. Q&A and plenary discussion
20 min. Sustainable approaches to integrating living heritage into your classroom (Module 5)
10 min. Voices from teachers and students in pilot countries of the project
20 min. Q&A and plenary discussion; testimonies from participants
5 min. Closing
Total: 185 minutes